Laurie Maguire & Emma Smith – All’s Well That Ends Well

Buy the Times Literary Supplement! Laurie Maguire and Emma Smith have a new article out on All’s Well That Ends Well, with a revelatory theory about the play’s authorship. The Oxford Centre for Early Modern Studies blog is linking to a .pdf version, but I don’t know if that’s exactly the same as the TLS version (subscribers-only; here’s the contents page). In any case, it’s a bold and exciting argument, and a fascinating new collaboration. For the first time in my life, I’m wary of posting academic spoilers – but I’d love to know what other readers think.

(Disclaimer: Laurie is one of my supervisors and I’ve been excited about reading this article for months; I’m also working on a chapter on All’s Well, and I’m so glad I held off finishing until this article was published. I just made E. get off the phone so I could come and blog about it. I love All’s Well.)

4 thoughts on “Laurie Maguire & Emma Smith – All’s Well That Ends Well

  1. Oh, this is THAT book, the one you REALLY WANTED to read but couldn’t say ANYTHING about! Now it becomes clear.

    And I clearly should read your blog more quickly – I had a text this morning from someone presuming I’d “heard the news about All’s well that ends well” and I was UNINFORMED.

    Like

  2. Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Shakespeare! | Clamorous Voice

Leave a Reply

